Solon Mayor Congratulates National Science Olympiad Teams

City of Solon Mayor Susan Drucker welcomed the winners of the 2011 National Science Olympiad team from Solon High School and Solon Middle to the June 6th meeting of Solon City Council.  An award was presented to the Solon School coaches for the High School and Middle School, Drew Kirian and Donna Ross.  The team members received proclamations.

Mayor Drucker said that the teams from the Solon School district “broke a 21 year old record by taking the first place at the high and middle school level at the tournament”.

The names of the team members were recognized at the meeting. The 2011 National Science Olympiad team members from Solon High School were  Roger Zou, Shashank Raghavachari, Ayush Gupta, Aditya Nair, Eugene Rabinovich, Ben Nudelman, Oliver Chen, Stephen Tang, Nick Palumbo, Andrew Mikofalvy, John Zeng, Haoran Yuan, Danny Sperling, Stephanie Sang, Lisa Guo, Sonia Godbole, Yuxi Liu, Lillian Sun and Stephanie Zhu.

The Solon Middle School team members included Katrina Mikofalvy, Zach Bogorad, Alan Jaffe, Tyler Eston, Dorothy Chan, Kevin Sang, Rachel Sperling, Rebecca Zhao, Jessica Zhang.


Solon Schools Win 2011 National Science Olympiad Tournament

Science Olympiad is a Chicago-area based, national non-profit organization founded in 1984 dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) education, increasing male, female and minority interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers.

The 2011 National Tournament brought together 120 winning middle school and high school teams to the University of Wisconsin Madison.  These teams advanced from state-level competitions this spring.  Teams competed in more than two- dozen scientific and engineering events on topics ranging from human health, ecology, chemistry, cell biology, geology and engineering.

The Science Olympiad has four divisions:

  1. Division A1 (grades K-3);
  2. Division A2 (grades 3-6);
  3. Division B (grades 6-9); and
  4. Division C (grades 9-12).

The Solon High School team coached by Donna Ross was placed first in the Division C Science Olympiad National Championship with a total score of 197 followed by Centerville High School of Ohio with a score of 203.

The Solon Middle School coached by Drew Kirian was the Division B repeat Champion with a total score of 244 followed by Marie Murphy School of Illinois with a score of 258.

2011 Science Olympiad National Tournament

Division C-2011 Science Olympiad National Tournament-Click To Enlarge

2011 Science Olympiad National Tournament

Division B-2011 Science Olympiad National Tournament-Click To Enlarge